Review: COVERGIRL Super Sizer Fibers Mascara

My favorite makeup look, whether it’s full-on-glam or no-makeup makeup, isn’t complete without long luscious lashes.

Fluttery lashes are a must with any look. That’s why I am always on the hunt for a magnificent jaw-dropping mascara.

I need something that doesn’t flake, smudge or smear, but does lengthen, volumize and intensify.

Those qualities are so hard to come by in a mascara, whether high-end or drugstore. Many brands have mascaras that do some of those things, but not all of those things. I have naturally curly lashes that always rub against my oily lids, and because of that my mascara is always migrating on my face. Yuck.

But COVERGIRL’s The Super Sizer by Lashblast Mascara seemed to have solved that dilemma for me. It lengthens my lashes and it stays put. Hell, I can even wear it on my bottom lashes without it smearing. At only about $7, I’ve already gone through 3 bottles in less than a year. Yep, you can call it my Holy Grail mascara.

I enjoy COVERGIRL’s The Super Sizer mascara so much; you can only imagine my excitement about their new COVERGIRL Super Sizer Fibers Mascara, which hits stores in July. Luckily, I got my hands on it early in the shade Very Black.

The packaging is the same and brushes are nearly identical. So I was expecting the same results.

The verdict?

Cons: While it’s similar to the COVERGIRL’s The Super Sizer mascara, COVERGIRL Super Sizer Fibers Mascara doesn’t deliver the same powerful lengthening effect. I’ve used Fiber mascaras before, and you’ll see the little fibers, especially when you remove the mascara. I don’t see that with this formula. It just applies like basic mascara. It’s not bad, just not what I was expecting, given “Fibers” in the title. My lashes didn’t look longer. They remained the same length, but slightly darker because of the mascara’s tint.

With the original COVERGIRL’s The Super Sizer mascara, I can go all day with little to no smudging. The longest I ever wore it was about 12 hours, and it didn’t smudge. I even wore it working out, and I had very little smudging. (Goodbye, waterproof mascara. I never liked you much anyway.)

Pros: As far as staying power, for me, on average it seems to last about 6 hours before I notice smearing or smudging. To be fair, it’s only light smudging. I don’t look like a raccoon at the end of the day, but I do look like I have a smokey eye, though unintended.

Overall: This is by no means a bad mascara; it’s just a good, basic one that doesn’t perform any better than its predecessor. It actually underperforms it. If you like mascara that’s going to provide a natural look without additional drama, this is a fine product. But for those of us seeking a little “come hither” lash drama with lengthening effects, pass on this one.

signature 5

 

 

 

 

*I received these products complimentary for testing purposes. This is my honest opinion, which is what you’ll always get at ErinWrites. 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. zenaidasavia says:

    Appreciate your honestly…great review!

    1. erinperkins says:

      Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

