Review: L’Oreal Paris Revitalift Volume Filler Skin Care

Alcohol. Sure, it can be fun to drink. But the denatured kind that cosmetic companies use as filler in your skin care wreaks havoc on your skin. While it can create a temporary “firming” effect on the skin, it’s actually tightening the skin by dehydrating it. Yep, it literally sucks the moisture out of you face to give you a tightening effect. Over time, that breaks down your collagen and makes you look a heck of a lot older than you expected. By now, you’ve probably guessed it: I’m not a fan of denatured alcohol in my skin care. That’s what you get with *L’Oreal Paris Revitalift Volume Filler skin care line—Alcohol and perfume. Not all alcohol is bad. There are fatty alcohols that are actually hydrating and beneficial for your skin. But, unfortunately that’s not what I’m talking about.

I tested out the following for about three days:

L’Oreal Paris Revitalift Volume Filler EYE TREATMENT
L’Oreal Paris Revitalift Volume Filler CONCENTRATED SERUM
L’Oreal Paris Revitalift Volume Filler DAY CREAM
L’Oreal Paris Revitalift Volume Filler NIGHT CREAM

Pros: The packaging was clever. The products like the serum, were designed to look like a needle—you know, the big scary one they’d inject in your face if you were getting Botox?

Cons: Alcohol was listed as the top 5 ingredients in almost every single product and the perfume scent of each product was migraine inducing. Results? None. I could only tolerate using these products for a few days. The day cream actually made my skin feel tight and dry, and I have oily, acne-prone skin. The night cream was so HEAVY. The serum also had a drying effect. The eye treatment was the only one that “seemed” moisturizing. It also had alcohol in it.

Overall: Not for me. It’s probably not for anyone. I passed the product on to my mom, and she didn’t like it either. She found it to be drying as well. I will say that I’m a fan of L’Oreal’s makeup items, just not this skin scare line.

*I received these products complimentary for testing purposes. This is my honest opinion, which is what you’ll always get at ErinWrites. 

 

Leave a Reply

