Review: Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm in Standout

Rockin’ Red Lips

When it came to scoring the perfect pout, I was never a red lip kind-of-girl. I reached for a sheer or berry-based pink. That was my ultimate go. But now I’m changing colors—my lip color, that is.

Image
Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm #210

After watching a slew of beauty tutorials on YouTube about Revlon’s new Colorburst Matte Balm, I was eager to test out this jumbo lip crayon. Thanks to Revlon’s Colorburst Matte Balm’s in Standout (#210), a perfect neutral red that works on most skin tones, I love red lips!

Part of my dilemma with red lips is that I was never able to find a shade that I thought was wearable for my lip size, skin tone, and features. I have naturally full lips, so whenever I wear bright colors it dominates my face rather than my flatter my features. But Standout is amazing. Let me break it down:

Texture and consistency: The Matte Balm formula is smooth, velvety and lightweight. It doesn’t cake up. It’s best applied on freshly exfoliated, hydrated lips. This product is intended to be matte, but it’s actually more a semi-matte texture because it’s smooth and not drying at all. It even has shea, mango, and coconut butter, so it’s hydrating. If desired, you can use gloss on top and it’s just as beautiful.

Image
Swatch of Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm #210 Standout

Pigmentation and staying power: It’s bold and opaque on the first swipe. The coverage is buildable. I’ve worn it several times now, and it has incredible staying power. Longevity is not one of the product’s claims, but it’s certainly a highlight for this particular color. It lasted on my lips for at least 6 hours, of course it naturally wears off, but it’s not streaky. The color just naturally fades away evenly.

Flavor and Fragrance: It’s slightly minty. It’s not an overpowering scent.

Overall: Amazing! Amazing! Amazing! I love this lip color. I’ve been building my outfits around wearing this lip color. Seriously. It just makes me feel sexy, polished, and confident. It’s definitely my go to for the fall/winter.

 Before and After Shots: 

Image
Sans lip color
Image
Applied lip color
Image
Close up of lip color.

Leave a Reply

