What’s your six-word story?

Blaise Pascal (French mathematician and theologian) once said,  “If I had more time, I would have written a shorter letter.”

So true. That is some marvelous insight into great writing. Sometimes the best writing is the shortest. All the unnecessary words are left out. There’s no pretentious, presumptuous, poppy cock standing in the way of clear interpretation. A great experiment to practice short, effective storytelling is to write a six word story.

It’s harder than you might think. Wait, does that last sentence count? OK, seriously, I’ll give it a shot.

Sometimes I smile. Mostly I cry.

Memories: You and me last summer.

Damn. I burned the eggs…again.

Pretty. Smart. Funny. Still no man.

 If only I had a gun.

Party. Two strangers. A glance. Lust.

See? With just a few words you can tell a story that makes you smile, laugh, cry or ponder. I love this exercise because it gets you thinking about the power of words and how much you say with how little you write. The great thing about writing is that the more you do it, the better you get. The more comfortable you get writing short, punchy sentences and writing for clarity and meaning rather than length–the better writer you’ll become. Give it a shot and see what you come up with. In fact, share your six-word stories below!


Leave a Reply

